Commission on Aging

Young girl hugging grandfather's neckEstablished in 1969, the Commission on Aging's mission is to maintain, enhance and improve the quality of life for older adults in San Mateo County through the promotion of independence and self sufficiency, mental and physical health, and social and community involvement. 

In accordance with the Older Americans Act and Older Californians Act, the San Mateo County Commission on Aging advises the Board of Supervisors and Aging and Adult Services (AAS) in its role as the Area Agency on Aging for the county and advocates and supports services for older adults through out the County.

The Commission consists of 21 members appointed by the Board of Supervisors.  Membership includes older adults, service providers, health care providers, family caregivers, and other residents interested in services and advocacy for older adults.  In accordance with State and Federal requirements, at least 60% must be age 60 or older.

Members are appointed to three year terms, and may serve no more than 12 years.  Contact the Board and Supervisors if you're interested in filling a vacant seat on the Commission.  Individuals interested in applying may also contact AAS administration at (650) 573-3900.  Along with the 21 appointed voting members, two County representatives to the California Senior Legislature, a Youth Commissioner and a member of the Board of Supervisors, or his/her representative hold a seat on the Commission.

There are two elected officers of the Commission: a chair and vice chair.  Officers serve a one-year term with a maximum of four terms.  In addition to the two elected positions, the Executive Committee consists of the chairs of the six standing committees.  These standing committees include:  Adult Abuse Prevention, Legislative/Advocacy, Membership, and Isolation Seniors.

General Meeting: 2nd Monday of every month, except for August and December.

The Commission invites the public to all the meetings

Contact person: Michelle Makino (650) 573-3527

Chair: Dr. Mary Larenas

Vice Chairs: Christina Kahn and Scott McMullin

Agendas 2015


Agendas 2014
Minutes 2015


 Minutes 2014

Annual Reports

Interested in becoming a Commissioner? We are currently accepting applications.  Apply online! Boards & Commission Page