A body art practitioner with a Practitioner Registration issued from any other jurisdiction within California has limited reciprocity. This is intended to allow the Practitioner to practice within this county and any other county in California for 5 consecutive days, but no more than 15 days total, in a calendar year.
A valid Body Art Practitioner Registration will either have an issue date on or after July 1, 2012 or compliance with AB 300 is noted on the registration by the issuing jurisdiction.
Blood Borne Pathogen Exposure Control Training Courses must be in compliance with the Safe Body Art Law (AB 300) Section 119307(c) and approved by the issuing jurisdiction.
Review approved list of Blood Borne Pathogens Exposure Control Training Courses
New For Temporary Events
You may be subject to the following penalties for violations of the California Safe Body Art Act:
- Administrative fines up to $1000.00 dollars per violation
- Permit and Practitioner Registration violations are subject to misdemeanor, suspension, modification, revocation and administrative fines up to 3x the cost of the permit or registration fee.
- Closure of the Body Art Facility and Temporary Event
Body Art Program Information
The listed links below contain registration and permit requirements for Practitioners, Permanent Facilities, and Temporary Events. Information that is relevant to community members is also listed, such as, the California Body Art Law, County Body Art Ordinance, a listing of registered practicing artists, and permitted body art establishments.
Body Art Registration Permit Information
- Practitioner Information
- Permanent Body Art Facility Information
- Body Art Expo Sponsor Information
- Body Art Expo Practitioner Information